Cookies on the EU Presidency website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


About the Presidency

The Presidency of the Council of the EU rotates among Member States every six months. In the first half of 2013, Ireland holds the Presidency for the 7th time and will guide the work among the Member States. When holding the rotating Presidency, the presiding Member State to some extent gets the chance to influence the EU agenda, provide impetus to the EU system and strengthen public support for the EU in the Member States.

Back to top